top of page
  • Writer's pictureJodi Lynn Hill

Study to Show Yourself Approved

"We can grow so accustomed to being spoon-fed the Word of God that we sometimes forget how to examine the Scriptures for ourselves." - Beth Moore


I don't often share quotes but this one is right on the money!!! This is my mantra. 



"Study to show yourself approved unto God a worker who does not need to be ashamed...rightly dividing the word of God." 2 Timothy 2:15


"And Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him, 'If you abide in my Word, you are my disciples indeed. I you shall KNOW the truth the truth will set you free'." John 8:31-32


You need to know the Word of God for yourself. And besides...God want's to talk directly to you...not just through other people. He desires a personal relationship with you. By studying the Scripture for yourself, you gain a true knowledge of who God the Father is, who Jesus is and who the Holy Spirit is. And as Jesus is the "Word of God made manifest in the flesh", by getting to know God's Word, you get to know Jesus. By getting to know Jesus you find out the character and awesomeness of God. And by inviting the Holy Spirit to help you in your study time, you get to know Him and all his love and comfort. "He will guide you into all Truth." John 16:13 


Also...the one who is spoon-fed, cannot also, be a warrior. And we are not only "friends of God" but SOLDIERS IN HIS ARMY! We need to know how to survive in all situations. If you were cut off from all Christian Sources...and all you had was your Bible...could you study for yourself? This is important. You need to be able to read, hear and understand for yourself! There is a battle we are fighting and you have the manual at hand...read it...study it...devour it! You need to let it become part of your DNA. Here's the reason...if you know it intimately and deeply...you will be able to smell counterfeit a mile away. If it doesn't match or line up with the Word of God...DON'T FALL FOR IT! Just because culture is changing, doesn't mean the Scripture changes...Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever. In Him there is no shadow of turning. He is the rock of my salvation. If you can trust anything, you can trust God. 


"Faith is the substance of things hoped for the evidence of things not seen...without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is the rewarder of those who diligently seek Him." Hebrews 11:1, 6


The benefits of diligently seeking out the Word of God are tremendous. It builds your faith and strengthens your foundation of Truth...and ultimately strengthens you as a whole. The closer you become with God, the stronger you are when you face the trials and difficult situations and circumstances of life. Trust me...I have experienced this in my own life. Because I know THE TRUTH...I can face those hard times and still know that God is right there with me. He fills me with hope because I know in His Word that he said it and that hope doesn't disappoint because His love fills me. Are there still questions...of course, I wouldn't be human if I didn't have them. But my faith has been built and is steadfast, because I have studied the Word and have seen it fulfilled time after time in my life. 


Study the Word...you won't be disappointed. As you study, invite the Holy Spirit to guide you in the Word. To reveal specific truth just for you that day. Learn about God's love and Jesus sacrifice. Read what Jesus really did say and do and don't rely on short little bleeps on facebook. Know the truth so it can set you free! STUDY ON!!!!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Choose

bottom of page